Yamaha AX-590 measurements

 

Yamaha AX-590 integrated amplifier

Yamaha AX-590 integrated amplifier

AX-590_results

For kicks, I thought I’d do a basic THD+N test on my Yamaha AX-590. The results are next to stunning – this is an extremely capable unit. The -88 dBV noise floor (measured with shorted input, CD Direct enabled and the volume at -inf) is simply fantastic for a 100 WPC amplifier, and I had to check that my test load wasn’t broken when measuring the damping factor – almost 1000 at 1 kHz!

What a performer! Given the relatively low (about $600 in 1996) retail price of this unit, I did not expect it to perform anywhere near this well.

2 thoughts on “Yamaha AX-590 measurements

Leave a Reply

