Super Flower Golden Green Pro 550W – Part 1

The fan is just sitting there.It is not often that I purchase new goods, but this is one of those rare occasions. However, I did make sure that the things that I purchased were at least semi-unusual: A Golden Green-brand power supply, and a Scytche Gentle Typhoon fan. In this post, we’ll look at the power supply.

The box, as seen above, looks pretty much like every other semi-expensive PSU box you’ll find. The wrap-around butterfly is a nice touch, I think.

Oh god where did the rest of the butterfly go?

Do you over-clock the switch chip?

The front (or top) of the box has some marketing on it. The “overclock version” graphics is a sticker that’s obviously been added later on. I like how you supposedly get one Japanese capacitor and save energy whilst still getting not only 20% more power, but 20% more ULTRA POWER!

You aren't going to let us forget that you're Taiwanese, are you?

They forgot the specifications.

Around the back, we find that a marketing executive has built a nest. He has, however, built it quite well; most of the marketing on there is quite relevant. There are no flawed diagrams or comparisons to nameless competitors.

If you add all those together, you get 80+ unobtanium.

Not quite Corsair-level of extras.

Inside of the box, they’ve been very conservative. What you see in the image is pretty much what you get. I, for one, think this is a big plus to Super Flower, for not jumping on the bandwagon and filling the box with pointless extras; I can’t remember using the cloth bag that I got my Corsair PSU in for anything but taking the PSU out of it. While such things may feel like “nice extras”, they really aren’t much more than an unnecessary cash overhead, as well as a burden on the environment.

BUBBLE WRAP!

If it wasn't for those kids and that blasted "Warranty void if removed" sticker...!

The fan is semi-transparent.

The casing on the unit has a matte feel to it, very similar to Corsair units I’ve installed in the past. The 140mm fan is… larger than what I am used to. I was expecting it to be more silent than it is; the 120mm fan on my old Corsair HX520 was considerably more quiet, and it wasn’t even an 80+ unit. I haven’t been able to find its brand out without taking the unit apart, but since Super Flower do brag about “dual NMB bearings”, I can imagine it out-living the rest of the unit.

I want more round, yellow capacitors.

No lack of filtering components!

Looking through the grille, we see a nice, big mains filter lined up.

dudewat

Couldn't mistake those for anything!

Looking in through the fan grille, we’re greeted by a row of large Chemi-Con KZE capacitors. Every electrolytic cap I could spot inside was KZE, which is very nice indeed. The big ones (which are the ones most common to fail) are rated to last for at least 5000 hours at 105°C, which is more than you typically see in PC components. I have high hopes for the reliability and longevity of this unit.

Plenty of power to go around.

Looking at the quoted specifications for the unit, the fact that it is in fact a unit with a step-down converter for the other voltages running off of the 12V rail becomes obvious. This is a good thing, as it allows for great flexibility in how the unit can be loaded; if you need to, you can essentially draw all of the unit’s (ultra) power from the 12V rail alone.

Stay tuned for part 2, where I’ll be putting this thing into use! I’m afraid that I can’t show more of the inside, as my computers have a tendency to consumer power supplies, and I don’t want to void my warranty.

Leave a Reply

