Scytche Gentle Typhoon (1800RPM)

As far as computer fans are concerned, I’ve always had a soft spot for Nidec, so getting a silent Nidec was something I had to try. I’ve never seen a Nidec fan fail catastrophically, they just seem to grow louder when they grow old.

As with the power supply, quite scarce packaging. Wonderful!

There really isn’t much to say about the contents of the package. You get a grey fan with a totally radical looking motor, a MOLEX adapter with an RPM connector, and four rather generic fan screws.

Manufacturer, model and model number. I'd never ask for anything more.

The point of this gif is to illustrate how well-balanced it is. I exposed this for several seconds, yet it remained very, very sharp. This is the most vibration-free computer fan that I've ever seen.

The noise level of the fan is very low, even at full speed. Since it simply doesn’t vibrate, it doesn’t resonate with the case, either. The air flow is plentiful, especially for the level of noise, and a surprise awaited when I put it up against my twice-as-expensive Noctua NF-P12 in a very scientific test:

You can see where this is going.

First up, the Noctua.

The results are quite clear from this test.

Both runs were at 12V, and the 11€ Scytche completely dominated the 23€ Noctua. Even the noise levels are comparable by ear, albeit different: The Noctua has considerably more turbulence noise than the Scytche, while as the Scytche predominantly emits a 500-1000-ish Hz motor whine.

Conclusions to be drawn? The Scytche Gentle Typhoon 1800RPM certainly offers very, very good performance for the money. In fact, I’d go as far as saying that it offers very, very good performance even if it would cost twice as much. If I were presented with a choice between this and a Noctua NF-P12 today, at their current price points I’d definitely go with the Scytche. However, if I was looking for a case fan, I’d probably go with a Noctua NF-S12B, as that fan is in a different league of noise.

Leave a Reply

